London

UndergroundIs there anything better than a film or video that can truly move you to another place and time? I find that to be one of the most marvellous aspects of the moving image. Mental and physical transportation.

And in that regard; I’ve seen two web videos this week that I have to share. Both of them transported me to London; one of my favorite cities in the world (and somewhat a second home to me). This first clip is created by graphic designer and animator David Hubert. It is a short, exciting visual journey around the city – captured in still frames and edited together (to a Daft Punk song) in a breathtaking manner. After seeing this, I wanted to get on a plane as fast as possible (see it in HD here – and check out the comments thread):

And the second clip that made my heart jump for London, is something completely different; but just as delightful:

Design Classics was  a series of programs broadcasted on BBC between 1987-1990. The clip I’m recommending you to watch, is an episode of this program – titled The London Underground Map. (It was apparently produced some time in 1987.) The whole 25 minute episode is online at Guba.com, and this little film tells a wonderful story about Henry Beck, the unlikely designer behind London’s timeless underground map.

(Click image to see the film.)

(Click image to see the film.)

A maze of tunnels, stations and lines in different directions becomes quite logical and understandable using this map. At least I’ve always found my way around London. Yet I’ve never actually thought about the design being so brilliant before – because when a map like this works; it works. You don’t think much about it.

But this film makes you understand how and why this map has become what it is: A timeless, unimprovable design every other underground system in the world has adapted. A fascinating story well told.

(Click image to see the film.)

(Click image to see the film.)

So, London… I’m dying to go back to London! Soon.

3 Comments

Filed under Short films

3 responses to “London

  1. I can only nod my head slowly in agreement while desperately wanting a pint of guiness somewhere around Camden Lock so hard it actually hurts. I haven´t been there for six (or is it seven) years now.

  2. Nice seeing you here, Mr. Fred Ut, and thanks for the comment!

    Couldn’t agree more regarding that pint. I was introduced to a fine, old-school pub around Holloway Road — that’s where I’d go tonight if I was anywhere close to London. Sadly, I’m not.

  3. Pingback: In London | Subtitles to Cinema

Leave a Reply

